Secondary (top)

A Chorus of Disapproval

A Chorus of Disapproval
Written by Alan Ayckbourn
Directed by Colin Burring
7 – 12 November 1994

A diffident widower attempts to escape loneliness by joining the local amateur light operatic society. By accident rather than by design (in fact, by not saying “no” to anything be it a request to obtain confidential information from his company or an offer of illicit sex) he advances from a small part to the lead. Parallels are skillfully drawn between The Beggar’s Opera and the day to day activities of the society which is performing it.


Guy Jones – Philip Vander Gucht
Dafydd ap Llewellyn – John Hart
Hannah Llewellyn – Judith Brace
Bridget Baines – Janet Pearce
Mr Ames – Clive Gavin
Enid Washbrook – Margaret Penney
Linda Washbrook – Joanne Dunham
Rebecca Huntley-Pike – Carol Butler
Fay Hubbard – Christine Angell
Ian Hubbard – Ron Yarnton
Jarvis Huntley-Pike – Roger Butler
Ted Washbrook – Colin Bailey
Crispin Usher – David Maun
Mrs Green – Elizabeth Hunt
Her sister Ethel – Freda Phillips
Martin the Barman etc – Martin Apsey


Stage Manager – Eric White
Assistant Stage Manager – Betty Bailey
Properties – Mrs Green and her sister Ethel
Lighting Design – Ian Humphreys
Lighting and Sound Operation – John Hudson, Mark Woodham
Wardrobe – Margaret Ball
Set Construction – Eric White, Bob Gritton and the Playhouse Workshop
Crew – Polly Owen, Sharon Dominey, Matt Stevens, Maria Stephens
Photography – John Midlane
Foyer Display – Joanne Dunham
Mediaeval Cottages – Graeme Horner