Secondary (top)

My Fair Lady

My Fair Lady
Book & Lyrics by Alan J. Lerner
Music by Frederick Loewe
Adapted from George Bernard Shaw’s play and Gabriel Pascal’s Motion Picture Pygmalion
Directed by Vernon Leese
3 – 8 July 1995

In this beloved musical, pompous phonetics professor Henry Higgins is so sure of his abilities that he takes it upon himself to transform a Cockney working-class girl into someone who can pass for a cultured member of high society. His subject turns out to be the lovely Eliza Doolittle, who agrees to speech lessons to improve her job prospects. Higgins and Eliza clash, then form an unlikely bond; one that is threatened by an aristocratic suitor.


Eliza Doolittle – Claire Kingshott
Colonel Pickering – Colin Bailey
Mrs Eynsford Hill – Margaret Penny
Mrs Higgins – Audrey Christianson
Professor Henry Higgins – Maurice Tripp
Freddy Eynsford-Hill – David Maun
Alfred P. Doolittle – Eric McKenzie
Bartender – Graham Frosdick
Harry – Graham Peters
Jamie – Brian Roberts
Mrs Pearce – Pauline Ellard
Mrs Hopkins – Betty Bailey
Professor Zoltan Karparthy – Geoffrey Hawes
Lord Boxington – Graham Frosdick
Lady Boxington – Betty Bailey
Queen of Transylvania – Betty Bailey
Policeman, Chauffeur, Footman – Barry Richardson

Cockneys, Ascot Ladies and Gentlemen, Servants, Guests at the Embassy Ball – Betty Bailey, Audrey Christianson, Alison Clinch, Malcolm Corti, Graham Frosdick, Rebecca Grover, Geoff Hawes, Matt Hawes, Linda Jeffries, Jennie King, Dawn Leese, Joanna Lovell, David Maun, Margaret Penny, Graham Peters, Shelley Peters, Brian Roberts, Paul Wharton


Musical Director – Christine Diggens
Choreographer – Stella Jarman
Stage Manager – Colin Burring
Lights – Alan Hunt
Sound – Andrew Hunt, Keith Jarman
Properties – Jacky Maun, Elsie Bate, Cathy Wybourn
Set Design – Vernon Leese, Colin Burring
Set Building by – Guild Workshop
Prompt – Lesley Corti
Wardrobe – Marjorie Sawyer, Carole Bramall


1st Violin – Sarah Freestone
2nd Violin – Chris Koh
Viola – Anthony Green
Cello – Sarah Bartlett
Double Bass – Iain Buckland
Flute – Lesley Pocknell
Clarinet – Andy Mattison
Oboe – Jane Kissane
Trombone – Shaune Kissane
Trumpet – Derek Orchard
Bassoon – Peter Godfrey
Percussion – Mark Christopher