Secondary (top)

The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas (1989)

The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas
Book by Larry L.King and Peter Masterson
Music and Lyrics by Carol Hall
Directed by Bill Fielder
1 – 8 July 1989

This happy-go-lucky view of small-town vice and statewide political side-stepping recounts the good times and the demise of the Chicken Ranch, known since the 1850s as one of the better pleasure palaces in all of Texas. Governors, senators, mayors, and even victorious college football teams frequent Miss Mona’s cozy bordello, until that Puritan nemesis Watchdog focuses his television cameras and his righteous indignation on the institution. Musical.


Narrator – Keith Jarman
Mona Strangley – Annette Marchant
Sheriff Ed Earl Dodd – Roger Butler
Jewel – Margaret Penny
Melvin P.Thorpe – John Marchant
Doatsey Mae – Jacqueline Medhurst
Angel – Christine Angell
Shy – Janet Pearce
Mayor Rufus Poindexter – Tom Ellis
C.J. Scruggs – Ian Macdonald
Edsel Mackey – Ted Howard
Angelette Imogene Charlene – Jane Ghost
Senator Wingwoah – Tom Ellis
Governor of Texas – Keith Jarman

Linda Lou – Lesley Coppleston
Dawn – Jane Ghost
Ginger – Carol Butler
Beatrice – Polly Owen
Taddy Joe – Nicola Horner
Ruby Rae – Linda Jefferies
Eloise – Jayne Sawyer
Durla – Michelle Pearl
Mary Beth – Jaqui Rand

The Aggie Boys – David Maun, Vernon Leese, Graham Peters, Ian Macdonald, Graham Frosdick, Brian Roberts and James Templeton


Choreography – Stella Jarman and Graham Peters
Musical Director – Jennifer Anderson
Scenic Designer – Martin Howe
Stage Manager – Martin Howe
Lighting – Mike Auvray, Peter Price
Properties – Denise Brown, Carolynn Brown and Marion Ellis
Wardrobe – Marjorie Sawyer, Carole Bramall and the cast
Assistant Stage Manager – Joanne Smart
Piano – Jennifer Anderson
Violin – Bernard Brook
Synthesiser – Jonathan Watson
Bass Guitar – David Wright
Percussion – Lee Adams