Secondary (top)

The Wizard of Oz (1971)

The Wizard of Oz
Book by L.Frank Baum, lyrics by E.Y. Harburg, Music by Harold Arlen
Directed by Mike Hughes
12 – 17 April 1971

Dorothy finds herself in the land of the Munchkins and must journey to see the Wizard of Oz. Her path takes her past fantastic places, and endears her to the Scarecrow, the Tin Woodman, and the Lion along the way. Each receives his dearest wish after the long journey.


Aunt Em – Audrey Christianson
Joe – David Witham
Uncle Henry – Tom Roberts
Dorothy – Stella Jarman
Sourceress of the North – Margaret Laurence
Mayor – Eric Crichton
Farmer – Andrew Wright
Coroner – Louis Cox
Wicked Witch of the West – Diane Packham
Scarecrow – Keith Jarman
Tinman – John Farrell
Lion – Phil Carter
First General – Tom Roberts
A Private – David Witham
A Lady of Oz – Christine Giles
Lord Growlie – Alan Bowman
Gloria – Karen Chipperfield
Virago – Jean Poole
Mombi – Christine Giles
Tibia – Louis Cox
Wizard of Oz – Peter Paul
Ozmas – Andrew Wright

Girls: Audrey Christianson, Jennifer Farrell, Christine Giles, Gina Harmer, Hazel Jones, Marilyn Palmer, Jean Poole, Jean McCullough

Boys: Phil Carter, Eric Crichton, Louis Cox, John Farrell, Neal Jarman, David Witham, Andrew Wright.


Piano – Sidney Walworth
Flute – Graham Nash
Clarinet/Sax – Francis Christou
Bass – Walter Shipway
Drums – John Parish
Trombone – Les Watts


Stage Manager – Tony Bate
Deputy Stage Manager – Len Huntley
Assistant Stage Manager – Lyn Hughes
Properties – Sylvia Foster, Viviane Hollingsworth
Lighting – Mike Auvray, Colin Lincoln, Molly Pritchard, Lyn Grizzell
Sound – Bill Brookes, Phillip Page
Wardrobe – Chris Giles, Alma Howe, Lyn Hughes, Diane Packham
Wigs – Nathanwigs
Animal Costume – Theatre Zoo